Category Archives: pedantry

Sexism Against Men And Other Word Overloading

There’s a great tumblr post that does the rounds occasionally. It’s a powerful and pithy explanation of how authority figures exploit words with multiple but related meanings to sound reasonable while saying unreasonable things. Sometimes people use “respect” to mean … Continue reading

Posted in language, pedantry, politics, social justice, things i will regret | 2 Comments

How To DDoS Your Own Website With Python

Have you ever thought, “huh, I wonder how easily I could DDoS myself despite all the hard work of library and framework authors?” In that case, have I got news for you! In the vein of Uses and Abuses Of … Continue reading

Posted in computer science, pedantry, software | Leave a comment

Common Data Structures You Already Secretly Understand

Let’s talk about data structures that have close analogies to things you already do or know! This post will not be educational or entertaining, I promise. Enjoy! Linked Lists What is it? A linked list is a way of storing … Continue reading

Posted in computer science, pedantry | 1 Comment

Users and Accounts in Swift

(This will eventually be published on the SwiftStack blog) Preface: I am a developer at SwiftStack, where we work with Swift, which is in this context an open source distributed object storage engine, not the Apple language of the same … Continue reading

Posted in pedantry, software | Leave a comment

An Intuition On Why Teaching Is Hard

There are some things that are very difficult to teach. For example, nobody has really figured out how to teach programming yet. Many people are pretty good at teaching calculus, but nobody has a 100% success rate, and it’s never … Continue reading

Posted in language, pedantry | Leave a comment

All Security Is Security Theatre

In light of the Ashley Madison leak, I wanted to tell, or perhaps remind, you that all security is bullshit. This applies to physical (e.g. home) security as well as digital security. The moral of this post will be: please … Continue reading

Posted in pedantry, software | Leave a comment

Secure, But Not Encrypted

I’ve been going to the doctor a lot lately (knee problem, boring story), and I had to sign a consent-to-being-emailed form. On this form, which I regrettably forgot to nab a copy of to post here, it was explained to … Continue reading

Posted in pedantry, security, software | 1 Comment